Credit facilities to cover operational (variable) costs for fish farming are costly and are currently not accessible for the majority of fish farmers in Uganda. Much of the investments farmers are making into fish farming are from their own savings. Plan and schedule management activities in a manner that reduces time and costs as well as cash outlays. Be efficient in everything you. When running a fish farm commercially, the overall aim is to minimize production costs and optimize efficiency as well as returns. Practically this means:. Lowering fcrs to optimum levels.
Cow farm business plan
Stock the bewerbung stockers into grow-out ponds. Stockers can additionally be raised to sub-market size in a pond which can then be split out and reared to market sized fish in larger, fattening ponds (see figure.1 below). Space on the farm can therefore be used more efficiently. Having a split program also helps one track more closely, the number of fish being raised on the farm because each time the fish are transferred to a different unit, the previous pond is drained and a complete inventory done. Figure.1: Illustration of Options of a split Production Program All-in all, as a commercial farmer, one should ultimately aim at:. Satisfying the market needs. Plan management activities in a manner that ensures a steady supply of the right quality to the identified market, at the frequency the market demands. To do this, one must take into account ones:. Resource limitations, notably land availability, money required for inputs before sales are made (cash flow. For example, how frequently should I make sales and what should be the size of those harvests so that I do not feel the pinch of buying inputs for eight months before i can get some income. It is important to take this into account because, nursery essay pond nursery pond stockers to submarket-size grow-out pond fattening pond fattening pond.
Holding fish ready for market for 36 weeks is a rather long time and is an inefficient way of management that will surely result in high fcr and low profit. Therefore, in cases where the market requires small amounts of fish each time, it makes more business sense to have several small ponds rather than a few large ponds. The need to optimize space and use resources more efficiently. Fingerlings only require about 10 of the pond area initially if a single in-out system is used. The rest of the space in the pond is unused, but the farmer still has to manage the entire pond. In fish farming, unlike crop production, you cannot look after a portion of the pond as you would a portion of your garden. In addition, catfish tend to feed more vigorously when they are at high density. Therefore, it is preferable to have ponds of different sizes on a grow- out farm rather than a few extremely large ones. When the fish come in as fingerlings they are raised to stockers (for example, from lab 10 g to 50 g) in nursery ponds.
The frequency at which one good needs to supply the market and the quantities required at each delivery. For example, if the market requires 100 kg of fish per week, there is no point in constructing a 2,000 m2 with the capacity to produce 3,600. This is because when the pond is seined one is likely to harvest about 300 kg or more at each seining. In such a case, each time the pond is seined, one will have to return some fish to the pond because the market requires only 100 kg of fish per delivery. Repeated seinings and returning fish back to the pond, is costly and stressful to the fish and in the long run, negatively affects overall survival rates and growth performance. In addition, one will need to harvest about 36 times to get out all the fish. It will only be after about 36 weeks (about 9 months) that the pond is likely to be completely harvested. Therefore, for more than half of the time the pond is in production, it will be stocked at less than its full capacity with fish that are ready to market.
When farmers ignore the cost of the pond, they often make poor decisions on management. Table.1: Example Enterprise budget for Single pond Cycle for Static-Water Catfish Monoculture fed Nutritionally complete commercial Sinking Pellets Item Amount Unit Cost (USh) Total Cost (USh) key capital Costs land Pond (1,000m2 ) 1,000 m2 Water channels Production Targets Critical Standing crop 1,800. If a person had to borrow 3,743,500 USh, the interest on this loan could be rather high, maybe as much as 27, which would mean the farmer is working for the bank. The farmer would have to pay back 1 million USh and be left with only 300,000 for the family. The enterprise budget allows the farmer to plan in advance and compare options. Farm Production and Business Planning When one has more than one pond on the farm, one should plan overall production to meet the targeted market requirements. One can have more frequent harvests and sales of fish from the farm if one follows a split program. This concept is similar to that in poultry production where the days-old chicks first come to the brooder, then move to a growing unit and finally are split among various fattening units. The considerations taken into account include:.
(farm income forum
For example if a farmer is not making much money, it may be because one enterprise is operating at a loss while others are actually profitable. A quick enterprise budget exercise can help a farmer calculate the break-even price of bubble their product to compare this with their expected selling price. For example in the pond production plan business above, a total cost of 3,862,500 USh to produce 1,800 kg of catfish means that the farmer must sell at a price above 2,145USh/kg just to cover the production costs and this does not even pay back the. Table.1 gives a sample enterprise budget for a 1,000 m2 catfish grow- out pond fed nutritionally complete commercial sinking pellets based on data obtained during the usaid fish projects trials. It is important to note that other costs such as land, labour have not been included in table.1.
Only the basic inputs have been costed in the variable costs, notably fingerlings and feed. Such land and labor are highly variable from farmer to farmer. If they are not included in the enterprise budget, then the profit is often called returns to land and labor. Shows that catfish can be grown profitably. However, as opposed to what most farmers believe, it is not possible to regain all of ones capital costs in the first production cycle. It takes 5 10 years to pay off ones capital investment costs when land and pond construction are taken into account.
Feed Requirements type of feed Commercial Sinking Pellets (30 CP) Amount feed Required (assumefcr.8 3,240 kg 1,000 3,240,000. Expected Duration of Cycle duration (weeks) 23 weeks duration (days) 161 days Expected. Samplings 5 times final Harvest (3 seinings drainage). Labour Requirements family labour for feeding and daily maintenance 6 months 20,000 120,000 1 extra person for sampling harvests 9 man-days 3,000 27,000. 30,000 30,000 total expected production costs 3,862,500 a costs are zero if no pumping is required to fill pond. In a well constructed pond, the only water loss should be from evaporation.
Pond levels need to be topped up hence the extra water demand. Knowing how much water one requires per cycle helps one size farm reservoir for water supply to fish farms. NB: For details on how to make above estimates in production plan, see appendix. The Enterprise budget An enterprise is a separate business on a farm. For example, if a farmer is growing chickens, fish for food and fingerlings, each of these can be viewed as separate enterprises. Knowing the profitability of each enterprise allows the farmer to decide if a particular enterprise should be continued.
Strategic, plan, pork, checkoff
The farmers pond is 1,000. The fingerlings he plans to purchase are on average 10 g each. Total alkalinity and hardness of the water were measured at 40 ppm each. Item quantity unit Cost (USh) Expected Total Cost (USh). Pond Profile pond Area 1,000 m2 average water Depth.9 m pond Water Volumea 900 m3 0. Water Requirements Expected water need (replace losses) writing 1,372. Stocking Expected harvest (cc2,000 kg) 1,800 kg targeted market size 800g number writing of fish to Stock 2,475 fingerlings 180 445,500 Stocking density.8 fish/m2. General Pond Management Estimated lime requirement none 0.
How do i get my fish to the market? What returns can i expect from the above? The expected production from each pond can be projected beforehand using the template pond production plan with the aid wallpaper of the feeding chart. Below is an example of a production plan (see template pond production in appendix 11 for more details). Costs can then be added to the amounts derived. The production plan forms the basis of an enterprise budget. Note that the farmer should plan to harvest before carrying capacity is reached. Box 6: Example of a projected Pond Production Plan. A farmers village market prefers catfish of about 800g.
I source my seed and feed? What is the quality of feed i intend to use? This is important because it limits possible fcrs, water quality and carrying capacity. How much feed and seed shall I require? What technology do i have at my disposal and which would be the best to adopt? How frequently do i need to harvest for the market? (complete harvest/partial harvests).
Therefore, production report should be planned from the onset to target identified markets. This means one should:. Have the required product (size and form) available when the market wants it,. Be able to produce adequate volumes to sustain targeted markets,. Produce at a competitive price and profit. Production Planning, when making a production and business plan for table fish, one should endeavor to answer the following questions beforehand. Where is the market? its location, what category of people are likely to buy the fish I produce, etc. What does the market want?
11 Steps to a whole-farm
Agricultural Business Plan ee infographics With Business Icons Flat Powerpoint. Poultry farmer Resume sample Stunning Farm Managers Resume. Project Proposal Templates - home resume cv cover Letter. Home, agricultural spondylolisthesis Business Plan Template, best Post, popular Post. Successfully reported this slideshow. Fish Farming Business Planning, upcoming SlideShare, loading. No downloads, no notes for slide. Fish Farming Business, planning. The objective of commercial fish farming is to produce fish for sale and earn profits.